Reward & Recognition Awards 2017

We are now seeking nominations for this year’s Reward and Recognition Awards.  These awards seek to reward members of staff who have gone over and above what is expected of them in their role – either clinical or non-clinical, individually or as part of a team.

The winners will be announced at an event in November which also celebrates the long service of those members of staff who have worked in the NHS for 30 or 40 years.

Nominations can be received from patients or members of staff who have witnessed exceptional service.  More information on the individual categories can be found below along with a nomination form at the very bottom of the page.


How to enter

Nominations must be made on the attached form and either placed in the mail or emailed to:  Please ensure you complete all sections.

If you feel your nominee falls into two or more categories, please complete two or more forms.

Please remember you should provide sufficient information regarding the nomination to help the judging panel.   The deadline for entries is Friday, 8 September 2017.

The judging panel will be looking for nominations which match the Trust’s corporate objectives of putting people first, listening, encouraging new ideas, promoting teamwork and leadership, and excellence in health.


General Criteria

The judges will be looking to make sure all entries meet both the general criteria and the criteria specific to the award category you are entering.

General criteria:

  • Exceptional quality above and beyond what is expected of their role. You need to be able to demonstrate that the nominee has gone the extra mile.
  • Enthusiasm and commitment to the Trust and its goals.
  • A sustained contribution over a period of time.

Customer Service Award – Individual and Team

This award recognises a team of staff and an individual who has demonstrated excellent customer care by putting the patient or customer (ie another department within the Trust or organisation external to the Trust) at the centre of the service.  Our vision sets out the need for us to work to the highest standards found within other service industries so patients find that the quality of service they receive is delivered on sound, caring principles and their stay with us is as comfortable and stress free as possible.

This award will value those staff who have respected, listened and responded to the needs of customers – whether that is patients and their carers or other services in or outside the Trust in ensuring they have a good experience.

The entry must explain how the individual or team has provided a service which has consistently exceeded expectations.

Service Improvement and Innovation Award – Individual or Team

This award seeks to celebrate and honour those who have either:

  • Implemented improvements and innovative ideas which have ultimately enhanced patient experience; or
  • improved patient safety and/or reduced risk within their care delivery.

Every part of the work we do impacts on our patients and small examples of innovation can often be the most effective in changing the way a team works. The judging panel is looking for examples of hard work and bright ideas which produce excellent outcomes. The service improvement does not need to be “ground-breaking” – the panel will be looking for evidence that the change has had a positive and sustained impact on patient experience and/or safety. Entries must show:

  • how, or why, the need to make improvements was identified;
  • how the change has had a positive impact on the patient experience or safety; and
  • how the improvements were measured and will be sustained.


Care & Compassion Award

This  award seeks to award an individual who epitomises everything that leads to outstanding care and compassion. They are able to demonstrate the values outlined in the “6 C’s” – listed below.

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Competence
  4. Communication
  5. Courage
  6. Commitment

Whilst the 6 C’s is primarily a nursing tool, we believe the principles can be applied to any member of staff so the judging panel will welcome entries from all disciplines – not just nursing.

Outstanding Contribution

This award will look for someone who is an inspiration to staff here at CHS.  They will be instrumental in motivating and encouraging others to achieve our aims.

This person will be making an outstanding contribution to the development of services, someone who “makes real” our commitments to outstanding patient care through their own daily work, will have demonstrated a sustained contribution over a period of time and overcome challenges in order to achieve goals.

Team of the Year Award – Clinical Team of the Year Award – Non-Clinical

These awards will recognise teams which have consistently given the very best service to their patients, clients or customers (who may be other departments).  The teams will show true team working, with valued contribution from all members of staff at any level and any discipline, resulting in the best environment in which care or a service is delivered and for staff to work.

The entry must show:

  • they have used the principles of team working to achieve good practice;
  • they have provided an improved performance or service as a result of multi–disciplinary team working; and
  • can demonstrate significant achievements and commitment.
  • compassionate care (for clinical areas).


Leadership Award

This is awarded to an individual who shows exceptional leadership skills in one or more of the following:

  • Demonstrable outcomes in performance, locally or organisationally, due to their contribution and leadership.
  • Leading staff through organisational development or change.
  • Encouraging and motivating staff to develop and achieve personal and/or organisational goals.

The individual will be someone who places quality at the heart of everything they do and inspires every member of the team. Entries must show how the nominee’s leadership behaviour has impacted on the quality of the service delivered to the benefit of patients or customers and their staff.

Nomination Form 2017