Council of Governors

The Trust’s Council of Governors is made up of elected members of the Foundation Trust.  Public meetings are held approximately every 2-3 months and the dates for 2017 can be found below:


Tuesday, 28 March 2017 – 9.30am – Houghton Library

Tuesday, 6 June 2017 – 2pm – Glebe Centre, Murton.

Tuesday, 1 August 2017 – 10 am – Sunderland Eye Infirmary.

Tuesday, 31 October 2017 – 2pm – venue to be confirmed.


Members of the public, patients, Foundation Trust members and staff are able to attend these meetings.  There will be an opportunity to speak to Governors at the end of the meeting.


Papers for 2017 can be found here

Papers for 2016 can be found here

Papers from 2015 can be found here

Papers from 2014 can be found here

Papers from 2013 can be found here


For papers prior to 2013, please contact the Trust Secretary at



Council of Governors – Members

Patients’ Constituency

Sue Cooper
Gillian Pringle


Public Constituency – North East

Danny Cassidy
Ruth Richardson


Public Constituency – Sunderland

Chris Colley
John Dean
Margaret Dobson
Liz Highmore
Michael McNulty
Susan Pinder
Pauline Taylor


Staff Constituency – Clinical Class

Lindsey Downey
Tom Harris


Staff Constituency – Medical and Dental Class

Shahid Junejo


Staff Constituency – Other Class

Jackie Burlison
Kay Hodgson


In addition to the above elected governors, there are 2 additional appointed governors representing key partners:

Councillor Graeme Miller – Cabinet Member with Portfolio for Health and Social Care, representing Sunderland City Council
Pat Taylor – representing Sunderland Clinical Commissioning Group